Contribution margin is equal to sales revenue less total variable expenses incurred to earn that revenue. Total variable expenses include both manufacturing and non-manufacturing variable expenses. In a service firm, contribution margin is equal to revenue from provision of services less all variable expenses incurred to provide such services.
Contribution margin is the amount by which an item contributes towards covering fixed costs and profitability of the business. It is therefore a very important input for many CVP decisions and is usually computed for a single product, multiple products together, a particular profit center and the business as a whole depending on the need of the management.
The equation or formula of contribution margin can be written as follows:
Contribution margin = Sales revenue – Variable expenses
The concept can best be explained with the help of an example
The Fine Manufacturing Company provides you the following data for the year 2017.
Production and sales data:
- Number of units produced and sold: 1,000 units
- Sales price per unit: $10
- Total sales revenue: 1,000 units × $10 = $10,000
Variable expenses data:
- Per unit variable manufacturing expenses: $4
- Total variable manufacturing expenses: 1,000 units × $4 = $4,000
- Per unit variable marketing and administrative expenses: $1
- Total variable marketing and administrative expenses: 1,000 units × $1 = $1,000
Fixed expenses data:
- Total fixed manufacturing expenses: $2,000 per year
- Total fixed marketing and administrative: $500 per year
There was no work-in-process and finished goods inventory at the start and end of the year 2017.
Required: From the data given above, calculate contribution margin and net operating income of Fine Manufacturing Company for the year 2017.
1. Contribution margin = Sales revenue – Variable expenses
= $10,000 – ($4,000 + $1,000)
= $10,000 – $5,000
2. Net operating income = Contribution margin – Fixed expenses
= $5,000 – ($2,000 + $500)
= $5,000 – $2,500
The use of equation to calculate contribution margin figure is just for explaining the concept. For managerial use, a proper contribution margin income statement is prepared to compute this figure. See the format of contribution margin income statement.
Importance of contribution margin
The amount of contribution margin should be sufficient to cover all fixed costs as well as to contribute towards profit. If the amount of contribution margin is not enough to cover all fixed costs, the business will suffer a loss.
Contribution margin figure is even more important for multi product companies. Normally, all products sold by a company are not equally profitable. High contribution margin products are more profitable because they contribute more for covering fixed costs and providing for profit. A multi product company can increase its net operating profit by focusing its attention to increase the sales of high contribution margin products or finding the ways to reduce variable cost of low contribution margin products. Read this article to understand the importance of higher contribution margin products for a multi product company.
The Eastern company sells a single product known as product-X. The selected data of the company is given below:
- Sales price: $175 per unit
- Variable manufacturing cost: $100 per unit manufactured
- Variable selling and administrative cost: $25 per unit sold
- Number of units manufactured and sold during the period: 5,000 units
Required: Using the information provided by Eastern Company, calculate per unit and total contribution margin of product-X.
1. Contribution margin per unit = Sales price per unit – Variable expenses per unit
= $175 – $125*
= $50 per unit
*$100 + $25
2. Total contribution margin = Sales revenue – Variable expenses
= $875,000* – $625,000**
*5,000 units × $175
**(5,000 units × $100) + (5,000 units × $25)
Total contribution margin = Number of units sold × Contribution margin per unit
= 5,000 units × $50