PQR company sells two products – product A and product B. The total fixed expenses of the company are $1,197,000. The monthly data of PQR is as follows:
- Sales: $1,400,000
- Contribution margin ratio: 60%
- Sales: $600,000
- Contribution margin ratio: 70%
- Prepare contribution margin income statement for the company.
- Calculate break-even point in dollars.
(1) Income statement:
(2) Computation of break-even point:
The PQR company sells two products. Its break-even point can be easily computed by dividing the total fixed expenses by overall contribution margin ratio (CM ratio).
Fixed expenses/Overall CM ratio
= $1,900,000Next page is: Exercise-3 (Change in sales volume, sales price, variable and fixed costs)
Prev page is: Exercise-1 (Target profit analysis, break-even point)